Anyways, at the current moment, I diddn't feel like jumping into a vast game like Twilight Princess... I just wanted a quick run through a game I've never played before...
The virtual console is my best friend for this kind of situation.
Even though I basically just bought John an 8 dollar SNES game (you can't copy them to an SD card), I diddn't care... I really wanted to try this game call The Mystical Ninja. I played the N64 games from that francise, and I love both of them. Which is a little odd because on a critical stand point they're nothing amazing.. but they have this kind of flare that makes them irrisistable.. and because of that I'm a huge fan of the francise so I had to give the original a try.
Playing through this game I realized something...
Old games are hard!
I think games of today spoil us. What with saving and 3D and everything else.. you rarely come across a game anymore that has hard ass boss battles where when you lose (and you will) your bumped alllll the way back to the beginning of the level. I was getting really pissed off. I was about to run with my tail between my legs and pop in Zelda just because the bosses arn't so damn intimidating. Sheesh.
You really gotta appreciate old game design... I think they were going in a totally different direction in 1992 as opposed to 2007. I mean, the story was at a bare ass minimum, the dialog was terrible and the enemy sprites has about 2 or 3 different poses in their animations.. but at the time this kind of game was a gem. Why? Because as crude as it is to look at, it's damn fun. Nowadays if there isn't a billion polygons in somone's beard the gaming community gets it panties in a bunch.
I love polygons as much as the next guy, but once in awhile you gotta look back at what built the gaming industry, and appreciate it for what it should be.
Fun.

No comments:
Post a Comment